Blue Ribbon Schools

Address: 400 Maryland Avenue SW, 5E105 Washington, DC 20202
See Map
Website: View Website

The National Blue Ribbon School Program was the brainchild of the second Secretary of Education, Terrel H. Bell, named by President Reagan. Best known for commissioning the study of American education that resulted in A Nation at Risk, Bell created the National Blue Ribbon Schools Award in 1982 to bring public attention to the best schools in the United States and to facilitate communication and sharing of best practices within and among schools. At the same time, Bell also originated the Distinguished Principal Award to recognize the critical role school leaders play in effective schools. This award has been renamed the Terrel H. Bell Award for Outstanding School Leadership.

Area Blue Ribbon Schools include: 
  • Tunstall High School was named a 2016 National Blue Ribbon School on Sept. 28th by U.S. Secretary of Education, John B. King, Jr. Tunstall was the only high school selected.
  •  Union Hall Elementary School celebrated being named a 2017 National Blue Ribbon School one of only seven schools in Virginia to receive the year’s designation.
  • Forest Hills Elementary School earned the National Blue Ribbon School distinction in 2013. 
  • Galileo Magnet High School was named a the National Blue Ribbon School 2014.